Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Presently, a majority of buildings, such as offices and schools, have open-area designs instead of individual rooms. In my opinion, this is a negative development that can lead to a lack of privacy, the easy spread of illness, and it is hard for staff to concentrate. One serious issue that can arise from open spaces is the potential loss of privacy. In these areas, especially in schools, teachers and students do not have private rooms to do their work and tasks. For example, when students do not have a private room, they cannot easily complete their tasks in groups during their free time. As a result, in offices and schools, people will lose their freedom to do anything because of the crowded places and lack of private space. Another issue is that the easy spread of illness can be a drawback of having open space. In other words, places without any space or without walls or barriers spread diseases, and viruses move freely. For instance, if someone catches a cold or gets sick, it can make it easier for illnesses to spread to others. As a result, employees may need to take sick leave, which makes them unable to complete their work on time. Finally, a lack of concentration and poor performance will occur, particularly among the staff. To clarify, when employees arrive to address job-related issues, they require a dedicated space to concentrate. Therefore, the absence of a designated workspace hinders their ability to focus. In conclusion, although it becomes more developed in some situations, they cannot realize the resulting damages for opening the area, which makes them lose more.