Eco-tourism usually involves people visiting remote areas. Some poeple think this will have a negative impact on local cultures and communities. What are they? how can they be overcome?

Tourism has become increasingly prevalent over the past decade. While eco- tourism does provide financial benefits to nations, citizenries and regional cultures can be jeopardized in the process. This essay delves deeper into the threats posed by tourism on local societies and their norms, and explores panaceas to overcome these problems. To commence with, visitors may pollute remote sectors, which may raise numerous health concerns in the regional population. To elaborate on this, several tourists do not conform to the rules and regulations of cleanliness in touristy areas. As a result, local dwellers have to deal with illnesses due to pollution caused by tourists. For instance, water-borne diseases, such as dysentery, typhoid and cholera, may potentially stem from polluted rivers and lakes: an effect caused by mass tourism. Pollution and detrimental health effects, therefore, appear to be one of the most alarming impacts of tourism. Similarly, local cultures and traditions may become extinct eventually. In other words, since urbanization and modernization are rooted in tourism, losing cultural and traditional norms may become inevitable. In many nations, for example, owing to the destruction of art exhibits and monuments, not only have remote regions lost their identities and peculiarities, but have also suffered the loss of their locality. Hence, the upgradation of rural regions comes at the expense of cultural and traditional loss. Turning to possible solutions, local governments should introduce strict laws for visitors. To substantiate, police patrol and security should continually monitor tourists undertaking unlawful actions which also includes littering local regions. To illustrate, street police have prevailed in several tourist attractions that monitor visitors and charge them for their inappropriate endeavours. This measure would, therefore, combat health issues and pollution concerns. Additionally, local councils should limit modernity in remote regions. To explain this, utilizing derelict lands, located in close proximity to tourist sites, for constructing amenities to facilitate tourists, can aid preserve local norms. To exemplify, in order to avoid the destruction of local traditions, several affluent countries tend to create facilities outside the visitors’ sites. Governments should, thereby, introduce plan developments that do not harm citizen’s art and culture. In conclusion, admittedly eco- tourism has several downsides in terms of health and environmental hazards and cultural endangerment, nevertheless, these problems can be diluted by tight control and keeping the sites untouched by any reforms.