Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

If someone asks children what do they usually do during their free time, most children will answer they do everything by smartphone. Such as playing a game, watching Youtube and using social media like Instagram or twitter. This phenomenon became too common now, but I think it's negative and we need to change this tendency in a different way. In the past, when there was no smartphone and Internet, children usually go out and play some sports or games together face-to-face. However, now we can do literally everything by our own smartphone so children don' t have to go out and hang out with their friends. They can always meet and talk in online environment. And if they want to get some information, they will search Internet or watch Youtube rather than going to the library. Moreover, children can study through application or online platform even if they don' t meet a teacher directly. This change looks very convenient and revolutional but there are so many disadvantages. First, children's social skill will get lower as they keep using smartphone. While using smartphone, they don' t speech out the word for a long time and they don' t spend much time to communicate with their parents or friends directly. Lack of social skill will lead children to become amature mature person. Second, indiscriminative access to media will impact on children's bad language habits and personalities. There are so many contents included curse words or inappropriate elements and the regulation system for it does not construct that well. So children can expose this dangerous environment and get affect with it while they use smartphones. In conclusion, as the technology developed, using a smartphone is essential now but spending the whole day with smartphone is too negative to children's growth. So parents need to restrict the smartphone usage of their children and try to make them experience other outdoor activities.