Many people today believe that we should abolish prisons because of their numerous problems. What are the problems with prisons? What solutions can be implemented to address these problems?

Prison system has been around for decades serving as means of justice to law-breakers. The system has managed to keep the peace in the society to a certain extent and recently some groups of people are arguing to abolish the system due to their numerous issues. This essay will lay down the problems related to jail institutions and practical solutions to address these issues. One of the prominent issues is that the ex-convicts have difficulties finding a job and end up committing the same crime. It is true that the sentences they have served should make them a better person but it is not always the case. Instead, some of the inmates make more friends in their cells thus widening their network and tend to reconnect to continue the same crime outside the prison on a larger scale. Besides, employers are hesitant to hire ex-convict for fear of them doing more harm to the business. However, getting rid of the jail system will not eradicate all the problems associated with it. Instead, the prison institutions could provide rehabilitation programmes such as addiction group sharing sessions or religious gatherings, not only would identify their root causes for committing such crimes but would also improve their mental health to be a better person. Moreover, having classes such as computer learning, carpentry or even something as simple as reading or writing will prepare them to be useful to society and to have some income giving them new purpose in life. Government could also intervene by giving incentives to the employers for hiring former inmates in order to improve their lives. In conclusion, former convict’s issues such as difficulty finding job can be solved with the initiatives from the government. Therefore, I totally believe that having prison system is crucial for the society.