Some people say the government should give healthcare the first priority, some others believe there are more important priorities to spend taxer’s money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

To develop a country, there are many things the government should take care of. Politicians need to set laws and inspect each usage of tax money to make the country better. Citizens' healthcare is very important, but other policies might be more crucial. This essay discusses both sides of the argument and examines the pros and cons of these policies. Firstly, take my country as an example; Taiwan is famous for its healthcare insurance. People can afford the fees for seeing a doctor. Even overseas Taiwanese would rather fly thousands of miles to Taiwan than have surgery in a local hospital in a foreign country. I believe the healthcare insurance greatly benefits every Taiwanese, allowing our country to focus on developing its economy. However, this excellent insurance system also puts a colossal pressure on our finances. Some professors warn that the government is now facing a deficit because of it. Therefore, we should consider the priority of applying healthcare. In contrast, besides healthcare policy, Taiwan is now facing an enormous threat from mainland China. They have more than thousands of missiles and rockets aimed at Taiwan to frighten its people. Thus, the best solution is strengthening national defense. However, the budget for national defense only covers 3% of the GDP, which is quite low. Most of the weapons need to be upgraded immediately. Our government should take this seriously. In conclusion, setting laws or policies that cover different requirements of the people is very challenging. Healthcare and national defense both play important roles in our society. Without these policies, we might face serious problems. Both the government and individuals should ensure that taxpayers' money is spent efficiently. In my opinion, while healthcare is vital, the current geopolitical situation necessitates a greater focus on national defense.