Being able to speak a foreign language is an advantage these days. Some people think that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, while others think children should begin in secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

With advancements in technology, the education system has also revolutionised which eventually has changed the demands of the job market as well. Knowing more than one language for communication is always good. Some people are of the opinion that new languages should be introduced earlier whereas others believe that they should be taught in secondary classes. This essay will discuss both sides and then give an opinion. Introducing an idea or concept early always has its advantages. Similarly, adding any one foreign language to their daily life will make it easier for young kids to internalise the lingo. Research has shown that learning any language at a younger age a actually easier for students, versus waiting until high school. In the majority of the South Asian households, 85 percent of them have a mother tongue than the official language of the country. It could be Punjabi, Sindhi or Gujarati. They would not know how to write the script of it, but verbally every child is fluent. On the other side, getting to know a language at secondary level means one has made a conscious decision to learn it. Learning a second, third or even fourth language not only expands your mind, but it sets the pace for a better lifestyle. One could score a meaningful position in the workplace, get into the college of your dreams, and connect with people abroad among other things. Studies show that there are many cognitive benefits of learning a new language such as increased memory, stronger mental agility and improved multitasking skills. In conclusion, learning new languages has only pros in all facets of life. The decision of when to learn can vary from one person to another. In my opinion, the earlier the start, the better it is for oneself