In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think it is positive or a negative development?

Recently, in numerous countries, people have been migrating from villages to cities, hence, the population of villages are dropping. While it is suggested by some individuals that this migration leads to a positive advancement, I strongly agree with those who believe it has an adverse impact. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that the decline of the countryside’s population means fewer farmers and fewer agricultural commodities. Since the population of the world is constantly rising, a dearth of agricultural products means less food which leads to famine and starvation in many parts of a country and even in the world. For instance, in Iran a country, in the Middle East, after a huge migration of villagers to cities over a decade, the production of wheat dropped significantly and governments had to import thousands of tons of wheat from other countries. On the other hand, another group of people claim that more people moving to cities result in more workers for factories. They insist that more workers mean more factories and companies. For instance, in China, governments encouraged people to migrate to cities and live in suburbs in order to be near the factories and work there. That helped China to run more factories and a huge growth in the economy. However, I do not find this argument convincing as the migration of people to cities may bring about major problems such as a rise in prices and pollution. For example, Delhi in India suffers from overpopulation due to the huge migration of people, consequently, this overpopulation population has led to extreme air pollution and inflation. To conclude, in my view, people ’s migration to urban places is a negative progress for countries. This migration leads to a shortage of farmers and less food for people. Moreover, the rise in the population of cities can lead to air pollution and inflation