These days, many people are shopping online instead of going to local stores. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

With the development of cutting-edge technology, more and more individuals tend to purchase online rather than visit nearby retailers. There are some benefits and drawbacks of this problem. On the one hand, online shopping will help shoppers save a lot of time and effort. They can continuously view different items and stores in a short period of time. Unlike conventional shopping, they have to spend a lot of time moving between stores scattered across the city or even not located in the city they live in. Even the worst situation is that customers cannot find their favorite products after spending a long time. Besides, items sold in virtual stores are often considered cheaper than physical stores. The main reason is that store owners can reduce a large amount of capital when they do not have to hire too many employees or premises. As a result, customers not only have more choices but also more economical options and of course, they will prefer to shop online. For example, there is a popular online shopping platform in Vietnam called Shopee, where people can find many items from everywhere domestically or internationally. To make themselves more competitive, store owners as well as platforms implement many methods such as livestreams, vouchers,.... to make and that makes the prices of products extremely cheap. On the other hand, online shopping still carries certain risks. To begin with, customers cannot determine the authenticity of the product. Instead of looking directly and choosing carefully when shopping in person, customers tend to be attracted by low prices and sparkling model images on shopping platforms and quickly buy them. Consequently, the products are not as described or worse, they are useless. For instance, also on the Shopee platform, there were many people complaining because they could not buy the product they wanted. Moreover, the operation of online shopping is often quite complex and has many stakeholders: shopping platforms, sellers, transporters and customers. At that time, transaction control also becomes more complicated. Many problems that arise can be from many people, even from annoying customers who want to cause trouble. To sum up, the development of online shopping is really a good sign, however, it still has many downsides that need to be resolved in the future.