When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sport facilitates than shopping centers for people to spend their free time in. Agree or disagree?

People have different views as to whether it is more essential to establish public parks and sports facilities rather than shopping malls for individuals for their leisure activities. In my perspective, despite the fact that there are benefits of building public parks and sports facilities in a new town before others, I firmly believe that improving shopping centres brings about many more benefits to society. On the one hand, it is commonly argued that public parks and sports facilities provide advantages in three aspects. The first contributing factor is that it promotes good health as having those places can encourage people to engage in physical activities rather than sedentary activities. Another point to be mentioned is about an aesthetic appeal. To be more precise, public parks could make a city more attractive and beautiful, persuading people to live and spend valuable times there. Lastly, it also affects biodiversity and the environment in positive ways as growing trees can be inhabitants for many birds and reduces carbon dioxide. On the other hand, there are two main reasons why a new town should build shopping malls before. Firstly, it enhances the economy of a town. For instance, residents will go out shopping, creating cash flows in society, which is a crucial mechanism for a new town to grow. Moreover, it also generates job opportunities in a town, reducing the unemployment rate in the community. Consequently, if people have work to do, then it automatically reduces their motivation to commit criminal activities. In conclusion, although there are some positives towards this approach of developing public parks, I am convinced that shopping centres should be built first, especially in a new town.