Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The issue of whether professionals such as doctors and engineers should be compelled to practice in the country they trained in or be allowed to practice in any country of their choice is a contentious one. Each side has its reasonable points, which are related to the general concerns of national investment, global mobility, and personal freedom. On one hand, those who support the need to retain professionals argue that it is only right that the country gets a return on the investment made in the training of such personnel. Medical and engineering training are usually supported by a lot of government subsidies. These professionals work locally to help alleviate national shortages and are valuable members of society. This can help avoid a situation where talented people move to other countries to seek better opportunities, thus hampering their own country ’s progress. For example, countries with shortages of healthcare would be better off if trained doctors stayed behind to attend to the population. On the other hand, proponents of the ability to work from anywhere argue that it is about freedom of choice and talent mobility. Employees should not be limited by the borders and should look for a job that is more suitable for them or that pays more and provides better conditions. For instance, an engineer from a country with a high level of employment may be able to make a difference in a developing country. However, such experience can be useful for their home country if they decide to come back after working in another country. It is always better to have a balance. However, it can be restrictive to impose mandatory work requirements while acknowledging the home country ’s investment. Rather, countries should provide incentives for professionals to remain in their home country through offering better remuneration packages and working conditions. Bond programs where professionals work in a particular region for a certain time in exchange for partially funded education could be a middle ground. Once they have fulfilled this bond, they should be allowed to practice in any place they wish to. Therefore, while it is necessary to retain trained professionals, it is equally important to respect the freedom of individuals and their ability to move across borders. It is better to offer bonuses instead of limiting the opportunities of talented people and keeping them in the company.