Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Environmental deterioration is severely increasing every day across the globe. Some experts indicate that dealing with such an issue should be a mutual responsibility between all governments, while others claim that each country has to solve its own environmental troubles. I believe that such a problem should be considered internationally and handled as a danger to humanity and the earth. This essay will present both viewpoints and consult some studies to illustrate my preference. On the one hand, nature issues pose a threat to all creatures on this earth especially to humans, thus; dealing with such matters should be hand-to-hand between all communities and countries. Advocates for this standpoint emphasize that problems such as climate change are 90% due to human activities and therefore, solutions must come from a point where all communities, governments, and organizations agree on restricted policies to face those problems. I find myself agreeing with this perspective primarily because international laws are more effective in controlling human activities towards nature, like deforestation, urban sprawling, and non-renewable energy industries. In addition to this, in 2022 the World Environment Organisation shared a report that revealed that disasters related to climate changes such as drought, wildfires, global warming, and floods have decreased by 35% in only 2 years during the Covid Pandemic which stopped the whole world and most of human activities especially industry. On the other hand, ecological concerns may be better to be solved regionally. Proponents of this point of view argue that it would be easier for each country to take on its own troubles and that global policies regarding nature may take a long time to be applied widely. However, the reason for my disagreement with this opinion is that most of the industrial activities -which are the biggest causes for ecological declines- are international which means that the process may be between two or more countries. Another reason is that sometimes, activities in some countries may lead to natural disasters in other parts of the world. For example, a study published by the Environmental Defence Fund demonstrated that global warming which is mostly related to human activities has led to a rise in temperatures in Antarctica by almost 3 degrees since 1950 although there are no industrial or human actions in that area, but due to other countries ' impacts. In conclusion, while national ecological policies may be faster and more flexible, international cooperation is a must regarding environmental health due to its efficiency. In light of the argument presented, globally considered guidelines towards nature emerge as a superior solution for saving the environment, especially when considering actual control of human activities.