In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? what can be done about this problem?

In the contemporary world, with the rapid growth of technology, the industries related to agriculture experienced a significant improvement. Despite these advances made in agriculture, many individuals around the world are still hungry. There are several factors why people still suffer from famine and malnutrition. However, steps can definitely be taken to tackle this issue. Numerous factors contribute to why people still do not get enough food. Firstly, the amount of food is not distributed fairly among people. For instance, citizens in developed countries tend to overeat, thus, according to statistics, almost 40% of USA citizens are obese, while in many parts of Africa, close to 70% of individuals suffer from diseases related to malnutrition. Secondly, some countries have advanced facilities and they use modern equipment for cultivation, however, many countries do not have access to these up-to-date technologies, so, they cannot feed all the people. Lastly, although in most countries there is enough land to plant and grow many crops, the impact of overpopulation is significant, making it difficult to grow food for everyone. Despite all these troubles, measures can be taken to alleviate this situation. One practical action is to set a penalty for obese individuals who overeat (not for their condition). For instance, in Japan, insurance companies do not cover obese individuals, or take more money from them. At the same time, national institutions such as UNESCO and UNICEF should take steps to mitigate the problem. Similarly, governments should give priority to low-income families. Many families suffer from lacking money and they cannot make ends meet. In conclusion, there are many reasons why with the advancement of the agricultural system, people still suffer from a lack of food. The problem will remain stable if governments and global institutions do not take any measures to address this issue.