In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, it is considered by a plethora of people that most information is stored online, rather than in ordinary books as it was in the past. From my point of view, this is a negative overall despite its obvious conveniences. In other words, the demerits of this statement are very many compared to the merits. On the other hand, there are plenty of examples of this idea. Online information is almost universally accessible, narrowing socio-economic differences among individuals and allowing for diverse conveniences. Part and parcel, humans can find relevant information on search engines from a variety of sources including user-generated websites such as Wikipedia to news outlets like The New York Times and academic journals as well. Once a person locates the information they are looking for, it is also easier to search within that article, share it with others, have it wherever they go and store more than would be possible if it was a hard copy. On the other hand, uploading information online encourages dependence on computer technology which is detrimental to the human mind. In history, if a person wanted to investigate a given topic, they would have to check out a library book or talk with an expert. This process was much slower and open to the possibility of bias. However, it also meant that human beings were more diligent and patiently learned from books, more nuanced sources. Nowadays, several people read everything from the net. Over time, this has led to a generation addicted to devices, lacking the healthy habits engendered by careful research and study. In a nutshell, in spite of the handiness of online education, the impact on the human brain makes this a negative trend. Folks must find ways to counter these potentially deleterious side effects.