In some countries an increasing number of peope are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for goverments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. to what extent do you agree or disgree with this opinion?

Obesity has become the most significant illness of this era. Fast food consumption has contributed significantly to its spread. A lot of obesity’s consequences are morbid like heart attacks, strokes and diabetes, therefore serious actions must be taken to tackle the rising number of obese individuals. One of the ways suggested to reduce its rate is to control unhealthy food by increasing taxes. This method has both pros and cons. Making unhealthy options more expensive has important drawbacks. To begin with, imposing more taxes on fast foods will make it difficult for those with low income to find affordable takeout options as items with better nutritional value tend to be more expensive. In addition, not everyone has access to healthy options. Some individuals live in areas known as “Food Deserts”. Those are places far from accessible nutritionally-dense foods or from grocery stores, so increasing taxes on unhealthy meals limits the choices they can enjoy further. However, raising the prices of unhealthy meals can be a good strategy. Firstly, it will discourage people from overconsumption. This will reduce their intake of those items significantly, which will in turn push people towards healthier meals. Secondly, money generated from the increased tax can be used to treat current obese people or spread awareness on healthy lifestyles and the importance of maintaining a normal body mass index. All in all, charging a higher tax on fast food has both advantages and disadvantages. It prevents unhealthy over eating, but limits some peoples access to edible recourses.