In the interest of road safety, cyclists should be required to pass a test before they are allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that cycle users should be prohibited from riding on public roads until they clear a test in terms of road safety. This essay totally agrees with the statement because of the high rate of cycle accidents and every individual who drives or rides on the street should know about the rules. Firstly, each and every day many cyclists meet with crash incidents and because it is an open ride, there aren’t enough protection features like airbags. It is likely that anyone riding a bike is exposed to extreme levels of danger. For instance, in Pakistan, bike accidents are more common than cars or any other transportation. Individuals who use cycles for their daily transport are still unaware of basic laws, and even after wearing helmets and pads, few people can’t survive due to the fact that it has no such protection features which can prevent extreme injuries. Secondly, to learn about the rules and give an exam shouldn’t be bound to electric vehicles, pedal bike riders should also be taught about street regulations. It can be as dangerous as other vehicles because they are also using the same roads as the other transportation. For example, in Dubai, UAE, bicycle riders are taught about the safety rules of the roads and also fines if found breaking any rule which sometimes results in their cycle getting impounded. These measures prevent many incidents and allow a user to stay as safe as other types of transport users. To conclude, a bicycle is an exposed ride, which can be life-threatening in crashes due to the fact that they are also using the same streets. Therefore, it is very important for every individual to learn about the laws and take the test.