Some people believe that children learn better when they are placed in classes with children of simiar academic abilities. Other believe that children learn better when they are in classes with children representing a diverse range of academic abilities. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Students ' academic levels may vary in some educational contexts, some people believe that the heterogeneity of the students may result in difficulties in learning, while others tend to stand against it. I think that it is better to let students interact with children of higher academic backgrounds for several indications, such as promoting group work and raising students ' sense of competition. First of all, students understand each other better even though teachers are trained to make content easier for students ' comprehension. Moreover, many experienced teachers have claimed that children tend to go to their friends,who have learned the subject previously, to ask questions because they somehow share the same language. One indication for it is that higher level students have gone through the same path before and are familiar with difficulties of the context that neophytes may struggle with. Ultimately, they can present the ideas in simpler and more comprehensible wordings to their teammates. Secondly, having a heterogeneous class can motivate the students ' learning. Children imitate each other and like to compete with one another. For this reason, having a class with learners of different academic abilities, can cause students to engage more in the class activity and share knowledge. However, it is important to consider a guided competition among the students to avoid possible negative effects. Thus, learners can benefit from heterogeneity and appear more active in class discussions by modelling their friends or trying to compete with them in a friendly way. On the other hand, homogeneous classes can be intensively teacher-centered. As all the students are at the same level, they are incompetent to learn from each other. Eventually, teachers are the only source of knowledge available in the class and group work can be limited to some extent. For this reason, classes may be exhausting most often. In conclusion, classes can be heterogeneous or homogeneous. I believe that studying in a class with various academic levels can be more effective.