Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

The concept of learning some other discipline besides someone's major has been given significant importance by some university students, largely influenced by the aspiration to be a well-rounded person. Although it is important to set the priority to their professions, I believe college students should also have a broad range of knowledge. To begin with, significant importance is placed on the students' qualifications stems from the fact that employers will only hire graduates according to their professions in the job market. In other words, the deep understanding of one's major, including both theory and practical knowledge, plays a leading role in distinguishing them from their rivals. For example, while there is a saturation of bachelors in the job hunting area, those who own a graduate degree will be regarded as professionals and stand out. However, the fact that an increasing number of cooperations and collaborations among diversified areas indicates that interdisciplinary knowledge and skills may facilitate job promotion in the long run. This necessitates effort on a broad range of subjects in university. For example, learning debate and speech may be beneficial to cultivating people's management ability, and appreciating drawings and music can be advantageous in nurturing a sense of beauty. All these soft skills might potentially contribute to one's career success by enhancing their interpersonal skills, especially for those who want to work beyond their major in the future. In conclusion, becoming a well-rounded person is time-consuming and requires enormous effort in and beyond someone's own major. While the priority is to acquire a qualification, if there is spare effort and time, it is encouraged to obtain additional knowledge in other subjects, which may result in a promising future after graduation.