Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Recently there has been a rising opinion about increasing screen time for kids, This should be seen as a negative development; Because it wastes children's time by reducing time value, And how they spend it, Also it is very dangerous to their health, And it might cause injuries in many spots in their body, especially their back and eyes. On the one hand, giving children smartphones or any other smart device might lead them to spend lots of hours as a consumer, and mostly there is no benefit from the majority of content that they are consuming, adding to that If children get used to wasting their time on these smart screens they would not know how to prioritise their tasks through the day. for instance, A recent study found that 80% of kids who use their smartphones or tablets for more than two hours per day, end up being addicted. On the other hand, The position that children get in while spending a long time on their screens without doing any active activity might have a very dangerous effect on their bodies in the future, Specifically their back and shoulders, Also their muscles will become very weak, Adding to that, Staring on these smart devices will cause a huge damage on their eyes. For example, Recently many paediatricians recognised the increasing number of kid's injuries due to using phones and tablets instead of playing outside. To sum up, The reasons why children should not use smartphones for long hours: are the time and energy that they are losing and the bad health that they are building through life.