It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and any include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals say that children do not read nowadays and it is tough to get them to read. I believe that due to the internet and technological products, they think that reading is boring. Moreover, we can tell the benefits of reading to encourage them. In today's world, most children do not read because most of them think it is a boring and time-wasting activity due to new technological devices and the internet. However, Reading is the most beneficial activity in this world. Most of them can increase their social skills, enlarge their vocabulary and also their understanding with reading. Nevertheless, Most of them want to spend their time on the Internet or with telephones,consoles or computers. For example, some children hide their phones inside books because their parents force them to read. Hence, children do not want to read because they do not know the benefits of reading and also they believe there are some other activities which are funnier than reading such as surfing the internet and playing console or phone games. There are some recommendations to encourage children to read. I believe that parents and teachers should tell them the benefits of reading because it makes people more and more skilled in their social life, they do not slog on when they want to make friends and also due to this reading their vocabulary knowledge get wider. For instance, experiments show that children who read regularly tend to have better social skills and larger vocabularies compared to those who do not. Therefore, parents, friends and teachers should explain to children the advantages of reading such as having more vocabulary and more social skills. To sum up, most children do not read due to their thoughts. They think that surfing on the internet and playing console games are more enjoyable than reading. In my opinion, teachers and parents should explain the benefits of reading to children to encourage them to read. If they tell them reading can enlarge your vocabulary and enhance your social skills, children might want to read more and more.