‘It is always wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance in zoos’. How far do you share this view?

It is widely believed that putting animals in zoos is always an inappropriate way to preserve animals. While I acknowledge the reasons behind this thinking, I am of the opinion that keeping animals in a controlled environment is a good approach. In this essay, I will provide the reasoning of my standpoint. To begin with, one of the primary reasons why zoos can effectively preserve animals is that they offer a secure and peaceful setting for animals, as can be seen in high-quality wildlife parks or reserves. It is recognized that being in captivity, animals are provided with a safe place in which their survival rate is more promising due to its poaching-free and wild-like environment. Additionally, another positive point from zoos is the conservation system they implement, which concentrates mainly on habitat protection, breeding aid programmes and disease control. This all helps to safeguard endangered species and thus preserve the global ecosystem for the future benefit of all life forms. On the other hand, though, it might be said that zoos have animals make several behavioural adjustments that may lead to disrupting natural instincts. However, I am convinced that this drawback can be eliminated by establishing a program that nurtures not only animals ’ physical aspects but also their mental health in order to holistically improve animals ’ quality of life. To sum up, it seems to me that keeping animals in zoos is a good conservation method that is worth implementing. This is owing to the secure place and well-arranged conservation program that the animals might get.