In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In many nations, it is supposed that a huge amount of money should be invested in erecting new high-speed trains connecting cities. Other opponents believe that the government should allocate their budget to upgrade the public transportation systems which are currently operated. The essay will discuss both perspectives and I will argue why the latter point of view ought to be supported. On the one hand, with the increasing demand for commuting, constructing new bullet trains should be prioritized. Because once the commuting time is shortened, commuters will save much time which might be used to solve more tasks at work. Moreover, students will have much spare time to do revision or simply socialize with their friends before the lessons start. In addition to that, holidaymakers will find it easy and convenient to plan more trips to discover new lands and broaden their horizons. In contrast, there might be some routes successfully operated. It means the others might be unprofitable which puts a great financial burden on the government. On the other hand, existing buses and undergrounds ought to be considered getting upgraded. Firstly, employees are familiar with travelling by these means of transportation to get to their workplace. If these were made to be more advanced, they would be run effectively. It means passengers no longer face overcrowded or time-consuming states. Sitting on these means comfortably, they can deal with much job-related work. Secondly, visitors tend to choose to travel by bus over by train as they can go sightseeing at a cheap price. From my perspective, taxes getting from residents should be used properly so the government should spend a part upgrading the present buses and undergrounds. Since it takes the authority less money to make them better compared to the proposal of building the new ones. And the spare money might be injected into other sectors including education or public health care. In conclusion, although the idea of building up new high-speed rails is advocated because of their time-saving and efficient features, I still hold a firm belief that the current systems are worth getting invested in as they play a more crucial role in people's daily lives.