Some people think individuals are more and more dependent on each other. Some people think individuals are more and more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Since the Enlightenment, individuals have been portrayed in public media as beings that continuously intensify their independence. This impression seems so solid that nothing can shake it. Nonetheless, I believe this kind of independence is an artificial illusion, which, in fact, is highly reliant on individuals ' reciprocal dependence. To begin with, people's dependence on each other now does not manifest itself in the form of immediate cooperation. Rather, it is embodied in the reliance on the products of cooperation, which is precisely why the illusion of independence has gradually gathered strength. For instance, we now do not ask for help from strangers when we get lost in a strange city. Instead, we turn to our iPhones for guidance, which can mislead us into believing that we are more independent. However, without the cell phone and GPS, which are undoubtedly the products of cooperation, we could not achieve this kind of ' independence.' Moreover, I am not suggesting that we have not made any progress in independence compared to before. For example, there was a long period in both the West and the East when ordinary people were dismissed as merely the possessions of lords, and women were degraded as only the appendages of men. The disappearance of these situations has powerfully demonstrated that individuals have indeed become more independent. In summary, I acknowledge that individuals ' independence has been significantly strengthened over the last two centuries. However, we should not exaggerate the extent of this independence and thereby ignore the increasingly strong bonds among people.