Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have diverse opinions regarding whether animals should be used in various experiments. While some individuals consider animal experimentation to be immoral, I contend that necessary tests on living creatures are acceptable. On the one hand, it is undeniable that such experimentation harms the well-being of these beings. For instance, tests are widely used in medical research. To test the effectiveness of new drugs, subjects are injected with various kinds of viruses, contracting numerous diseases they did not have before, which causes them to experience great suffering. Furthermore, these experiments are prevalent in the cosmetics industry, which is even more unjustifiable. Unlike medicines that are directly related to human health, cosmetic products serve only personal preferences. Business people develop new cosmetics to make a profit, and individuals use lipsticks, eyeshadows, and other products to enhance their appearance. Conversely, I argue that necessary tests on these organisms should not be prohibited, especially in medical research, for three key reasons. Firstly, there are currently no alternative methods to using living beings; therefore, researchers have no choice but to employ them in medical studies. Secondly, research subjects such as laboratory mice are not wild, thus having almost no impact on biodiversity and the natural environment. Finally, certain diseases currently have no effective treatments, and if researchers are not allowed to conduct these tests, individuals who have these conditions will have no opportunities to recover their health or, even worse, their lives will be threatened. In conclusion, although testing on living beings is unfair and damages their welfare, we cannot prohibit essential experiments in specific fields until alternative methods are found.