The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a general consensus that as citizens of this planet, we must do our part to slow down global warming and prevent a catastrophe. Some people believe that if there is a lack of petroleum available, it should be extracted from the Earth. This essay will delve into the advantages and disadvantages of this format of thought. On the one hand, the demand for crude oil is increasing exponentially due to the global growth of the industry. Furthermore, the most utilised form of energy is oil and gas, since renewable forms tend to be unpredictable. For instance, the amount of cloud coverage the U.K. gets makes solar energy futile, thus would not be a good supplier in this country. Hence, extraction from remote areas could help to bridge the gap. On the other hand, the world is heading towards the tipping point - to the point of no return. Therefore, using other sources could slow down the progression of disaster. For example, wind and hydro-energy or biofuel are energies of sustainability. These would provide a safer alternative which will not exploit remote lands and also prevent the catastrophic events caused by global warming. In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages of this message. Personally, I believe sustainable methods are better for the future. As a wise person once said, we do not inherit the world from our ancestors, instead we borrow it from our children. Hence, we should act accordingly to ensure we do not leave the Earth worse than we found it.