Modern buildings appear in large numbers, but some people believe that we should build our buildings in traditional styles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present days, limited land availability made buildings established in modern saving-space styles. In contrast, many people argue that traditional buildings are better than modern ones. I partially agree that traditional buildings will appear more cultured, hence the modern building has a value of environment conservation. To begin with, traditional houses bring the local culture’s value within their architectural designs, therefore it adds their fineness. In Indonesia, Javanese people always put a certain meaning into their house’s design, such as lower ground always established in front of the front terrace so that the guests will not forget to bow down and bend to the host family when they come to visit. Accordingly, traditional houses bring a lot of society’s value. On the contrary, modern buildings often have a high altitude and are designed with many rooms so that the building will hold a large amount of occupants. Other than becoming a solution for land scarcity, modern buildings also become a solution for environmental preservation. Modern architectural design will equip the building with environmentally friendly system, for instance, sustainable small-scale wastewater treatment inside the building and enough space for trees to grow around it. However, there is a tiny chance for culture’s adaptation to these modern-style buildings. To sum up, I somewhat agree that we should establish buildings in the traditional style, considering their culture’s conservation. But, putting land scarcity and environmental preservation into the table makes the modern building the best option for this present condition.