Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on family life and society?

In recent years, many couples have taken the decision to delay parenthood. This essay attempts to shed light on the underlying motives behind this trend before clarifying the detrimental impacts on both family life and society. There are two main reasons as to why more parents refuse to have children when they are young. The first reason is that having children later allows them to focus on developing their career ladder. If they had to divide their time for raising their offspring, they would have less time to complete their given assignments at the workplace. As a result, they could have negative impacts and fail to reach successful performance at an early age. Another reason is that delaying childbirth could give young people more time to enjoy life. For example, this choice may let the young in Vietnam travel around the world, learn new things as well as pursue their hobbies, which could give them precious experience to bring up their infants later when they become parents. This trend could have an adverse bearing on both families and our communities. First and foremost, raising children could be a huge challenge for older parents. This is because of the fact that it may not be easy for them to understand the gap generation in communication and understanding between them and their children, especially when their children turn teenagers. This could lead to conflicts and countless family issues, such as domestic violence and even divorce. Furthermore, getting pregnant after the age of 35 often carries more potential health risks. Specifically, this could increase the threat of miscarriage or stillbirth for older mothers, and babies might be at greater risk of having Down syndrome. This, therefore, could lead to a deterioration in the quality of the workforce in the future. In conclusion, there are arguments in favour and against the decision to have children at a later stage. While it has some benefits with regard to achieving socioeconomic background, in my opinion, the detriments of late childbirth problems for the family and the whole society outweigh some of its positive aspects.