Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

There is a common belief that people are attracted to buy certain products due to the advertisements, while many disagree as promotion campaigns cannot capture the audiences’ attention anymore. This essay will discuss both arguments before concluding that I am in favour of the former. There are several reasons why advertisements are losing their appealing effects. First and foremost, in the digital era, people are bombarded with an overwhelming amount of information, which leads to the neutralisation of attention spent on certain resources. In other words, it is more difficult to capture their interests compared to several years ago, as there would be more fascinating matters that are presented to them presently. Moreover, as information is freely available, it is unavoidable that many advertising materials are seen repeating one another. Indeed, many people complain that those agencies are losing the creativities, and sometimes audiences cannot tell the difference between the brands. However, advertisements still play a crucial part in shaping the purchasing behaviours of consumers. In fact, there are several examples of successful campaigns which manage to persuade consumers to become loyal customers. For example, the Got milk campaign manages to introduce and promote the consumption of cow milk in the community, which changes the milk industry completely. Moreover, by implementing emotional touches into the ads, many have been successful in gaining the awareness of the consumers and seen a rise in product purchases. To illustrate, the P&G’s “Behind a hero” campaign, which is a famous case study in marketing, successfully touches the audiences’ hearts by featuring the roles of mothers behind the accomplishments of Olympic’s athletes, and the sales of P&G’s commodities skyrocketed after the launch of such campaign. In conclusion, although some advertisements may seem boring and fail to convince people to use the featured products, there are still numerous successful cases. In my opinion, they are still an effective method to communicate with the public and gain the awareness, especially if they carry a meaningful message.