Some people think we should do more to prevent crimes, while others believe that we can do little for this problem. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often believed that more prevention of crimes is necessary whereas some people are less optimistic about their roles in reducing them. I partially agree with the former view, for an increasing number of wrongdoings in their various kinds regardless of the fact that the advancement of technology has made it more demanding for people to tackle complicated crimes in modern society. On the one hand, more active approaches are crucial in reducing the rate of crimes as more people feel threatened by them today. In other words, many people have become more suspicious of strangers in modern life, where there are a number of serious issues that remain unsolved such as the growing poverty, rising unemployment rate and the accelerating rise of food prices. For instance, the number of robberies in Japan increased dramatically approximately by 15% in 2023 with over 40,000 reported cases in contrast to less than 30,000 in 2020. Thus, the deteriorating condition of society has made more innocent people involved in the wrongdoings, depriving their safety and satisfaction in daily life. On the other hand, people's struggling efforts to prevent criminal activities are often helpless due to the incredible advancement of technology, which allows offenders to commit various crimes without the acknowledgement of the public. Indeed, people can easily become victims of others in a digital world, where their private information including a bank account as well as a social security number is somehow stolen by others without leaving any trace of them behind. Furthermore, harassing others online has also become more prevalent, and solutions are yet to be found due to technical difficulties. Therefore, preventing these problems is far from easy and authorities should focus on the development of other fields like education and welfare, from which people can gain more direct benefits. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that people should make more contributions to avoid the increasing number of illegal acts, especially when they rise at an accelerating speed, making people lose their trust in other people and feel insecure. However, current crimes, which have been made more complex by the progress of technology, have made it almost impossible to prevent them, making investment in education and welfare rather more essential.