Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recent years have witnessed a range of innovations in university education, especially related to adapting programs that fit modern society’s requirements. While some people argue that universities should allow their students to pick up their subjects, others believe that it would be better for them to be forced into certain key subject areas. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why optional subjects are superior. On the one hand, there are some compelling reasons why some people argue that the university should offer modules that will be useful in the future. Each university usually specializes in some specific fields, then they know how to build programs and syllabus that meets the further labour market. As a result, the students seize more chances to look for a higher-salary job in the future. On a societal level, by forcing them to choose particular subjects, governments can ensure that the necessary knowledge and skill gaps are covered. On the other hand, I still believe that students should be free to choose their prioritized modules instead of being compulsory. If they are passionate about what they are studying, they have more motivation to invest their time and money to broaden their horizon or have a grasp of knowledge. Understanding how to make them become their strengths in a competitive market which prefers creative thinking and flexibility to adapt to the ever-changing society. In conclusion, although I recognize the benefits when the university concentrates on some useful subjects, I still encourage students to have the right to study what they like.