Some people think colleges should provide knowledge and skills related to future career; others think the true function of colleges is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. Discuss both points of view about the functions of colleges.

Improving students ' knowledge has been the most important function of a university degree, which gives them a foundation for their professional development. While some people believe that workplace skills should be acquired during the graduation process, others trust that graduates can only focus on the theoretical aspects of the courses. In my opinion, a university's main purpose must be teaching the theory; otherwise, students will be considered unprepared for their professional life. Firstly, individuals who have enrolled in an academic course will normally complete it within four years, which can be highly demanding even for those who do not work. For example, when companies are selecting new employees who have applied for a position, tests are required to demonstrate what they had learned at the university level. Therefore, spending precious time developing professional skills during graduation is less significant than focusing on the theory of the courses. On the other hand, colleges and universities are the places of knowledge delivery, which should impart academics regardless of their benefits to the job market. Furthermore, universities should function as knowledge centers, where students can gain expertise in pursuing all branches of knowledge. In conclusion, the university is the best place to acquire sufficient knowledge of specific careers. Many people argue that students should acquire workplace skills during their courses; however, doing so could actually make them unprepared for the future.