The best way to solve environmental problems would be for the current generation to accept a simpler way of life for the sake of the next generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some claim that environmental issues could be best remedied by people forgoing the convenience they enjoy today for those who come after them. This view is well-intentioned, yet l somewhat disagree. Of course, reverting to some of the simplicities of the past may be positive, with one being growing our own food locally or at home. Instead of expecting perennial access to produce like exotic seafood or tropical fruits and vegetables, people could return to consuming only those things that are endemic to their areas and available seasonally, thereby dramatically reducing their food miles and the overexploitation of natural resources, and ultimately shrinking their carbon footprint. In many new urban residential developments now, planners factor in rooftop or community gardens, allowing even those restricted by high density living sapce to cultivate herbs, leafy greens and suitable fruit. This means residents generally rely less on imported or shipped-in fresh food. However, solutions to such problems need not, l believe, require simplifying our lifestyles. An obvious reason is the emergence of electric vehicles. With a broadening range of affordable options coming online, people from all walks of life can maintain the comfort a car provides them and simultaneously, lower their dependence on contaminative fossil fuels, which are major contributors to global warming. Another is we can continue to replace coal and natural gas with renewable energy, enabling us to power our homes and businesses without interruptions or limits. Indeed, right now China is the world's largest manufacturer of solar panels, satisfying the increasing demand for photovoltaic technology in many countries. As such, homes and factories can carry on using the appliances and machines that serve them best without significant changes. In short, while some simplification would be beneficial, l feel the wholesale adoption of a simpler way of life is unnecessary since the emergence of new technologies and alternation produce.