Some people think that the best way to improve safety is by reducing the maximum speed limits on vehicles others think there are other better ways. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Some argue that the best way to make traffic safer is by introducing lower speed limits for vehicles, whilst others believe that there may be better ways to achieve the same goal. While lower speed limits will, undoubtedly, contribute to better road safety, a more effective alternative can be to improve the overall construction of vehicles to absorb more damage before reaching the driver and passengers. On the one hand, decreasing speed limits is, undeniably, a logical solution to reduce the number and negative effects of collisions. It is common knowledge that vehicles that collide while going slower will inflict less damage to each other, and consequently, the people within them. Furthermore, a slower flow of traffic will give drivers more reaction time to prevent crashes when faced with an unexpected situation. For instance, two trucks colliding at 90 kilometres per hour will receive far less damage than trucks that collide at 160 kilometres per hour. Nevertheless, although this may be an effective solution, it will also prolong the time it takes to travel around, which will make transportation far less efficient and more costly for businesses. On the other hand, improving the construction of vehicles to make them safer will not only reduce the chances of injury, but, unlike the aforementioned alternative, will not hinder the time it takes to go from one place to another. Using more steel within the motor block, installing stronger windshields, and adding more airbags to automobiles are all ways to ensure passengers are better protected in the case of a collision. These will not only make vehicles safer, but increase their overall quality and reliability. For example, Volvo, a Swiss car manufacturer, is famous for producing cars that can withstand a huge amount of damage without affecting the passengers. The primary reason for this is that Volvo uses far more steel in and around the bonnet, which allows them to receive more damage before collapsing. Conversely, Fiat is notorious for making weak and unsafe vehicles. Likewise, this is due to the manufacturer using cheaper, malliable steel at the front. To sum up, improving road safety is a hotly debated issue. And, even though some may claim that the best way is to do so is by reducing speed limits, it is evident that making automobiles stronger is a far more viable alternative beacuse it achieves the same goal without hindering the speed of traffic.