In many cities the population is increasing. Some say that the urbanization process denies us knowing our neighbors, and this causes a loss of community sense. What is the main problem with this? What measures can be taken to overcome it?

Urban migration has been a burning topic, especially in this contemporary world today that has left many families and societies shuttered. The causes of this phenomenon are due to several reasons that will be discussed in this essay and also the measures that government officials can take to reduce their effect on the nation. To begin with, there are many problems that are caused by rural-to-urban settlement, however, the main one is the issue of exhaustion of resources. Initially, employment statistics in countryside areas are low this is because of a lack of development schemes that have to do with the infrastructure that is meant to provide the residents with stable jobs thus leading to a lack of job security within that part of the country, such people then choose to relocate to the township for greener pastures and better remunerations. Moreover, as more and more citizens settle in cities, population demographics tend to escalate leading to overcrowding as a result depletion of already scarce resources. To illustrate, according to statistics from 2010 in the UK, there was a nearly over 50% population rise in London with most of the immigrants from rural areas in search of work, as such the state had to increase its resource allocation in that city to meet up with the increasing numbers as already existing means were facing exhaustion. On the contrary, there are measures that can be employed to cater for such a problem. Firstly, it is the responsibility of the acting authority to come up with a framework that will boost and create jobs in remote areas such as opening up ghost buildings, such an act will the repercussions of urbanization and make individuals remain in their zone. In addition, another plan of action will be to draw up a social security programme that will cater for the less fortunate, the elderly and those out of work. For example, the Old Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (OASDI) program in the U.S.—is a program designed to provide partial income for retired adults, jobless and people with disabilities. In conclusion, the main problem that is caused by rural-urban migration is the overuse of available systems caused by unemployment which leads to overcrowding resulting in people competing for resources. However, measures such as job creation project plans and social security programs can be put into place to help reduce the effects.