Many people think that money is the best gift to give a teenager, but others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your opinion including relevant examples.

It is argued by many that the best gift that can be given to a teen is cash, whereas others believe there may be better alternatives. Money may, undoubtely, be welcomed with open arms as teenagers can make their own purchasing decisions with it. However, a more sentimental approach to gift-giving may be more cherished by the receiver, especially in the long term. On the one hand, an extra allowance can be great for teens as it gives them the ability to purchase what they desire the most. Because, at any time, there may be several things that they may want, by giving them the freedom to make a decision themselves, not only can parents ensure that they provide the best present, but also successfully develop their children's decision-making skills at the same time. For instance, many will have heard, at some point, a fellow child or young adult vehemently complain about their present. Parents can mitigate the risk of this occuring by opting for a cash solution. Although money can be a good alternative, a majority of people may see more value in sentimental presents, especially after some time passes. Moreover, the happiness that a toy or electronics brings is likely to be ephemeral, whereas the joy of posessing something that holds sentimental value can last throughout one's lifetime. To exemplify, when given the resources, most teens would likely opt for a material choice, like a new phone or an Xbox, whereas many adults, when asked the best thing they've ever been gifted, would show something that has emotional significance. To sum up, choosing the best gift for a teenager is a controversial topic. Yet, whilst some may claim that funds are the best option, it cannot be argued that, in the long run, objects that have emotional significance are likely to be more valuable.