A city should try to preserve its old, historic buildings rather than replacing them with modern buildings.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a trend of constructing the new buildings in a lot of cities. Some people argue that a city should maintain traditional architectures rather than replacing them with modern ones. I agree to a certain extent with this view. While there may be some convincing reasons why municipal councils should keep traditional constructions, the reasons why they should replace them with modern ones are more significant. On the one hand, when traditional buildings are protected, there are some benefits. One of the reasons is that municipal councils can keep traditional scenery by maintaining old properties so that their cities can become famous tourist destinations which appeal to travellers from other areas. For example, Kiyomizu-temple in Kyoto is one of the major tourist sites in the world for its magnificent landscapes. Another reason is that maintaining historic properties leads to passing traditional local culture on to the next generation who are interested in the local history. Those youngers can find and learn about the historic culture and ancient lifestyle in their local areas from historic constructions, which leads to the respect to ancestors. On the other hand, when a city builds a modern style of buildings, we can see more benefits. First, up-to-date architectures generally attract a large number of people since those architectures are usually equipped with the latest functions and features, such as facilities of brightness, spacious layout, and attractive events, which makes the users feel comfortable. For instance, constructions of ‘Toranomon-hills’ in Tokyo which include both fascinating shopping and office areas, are always packed with thousands of visitors and office workers. Second, building owners also financially benefit from new facilities due to the fact that modern facilities attract various people and increase the number of visitors and tenants. As a result, property owners in general result in earning more profits. In conclusion, I believe that the local government should update historic buildings into brand new ones because although the benefits from protecting traditional architectures are limited to travellers and people who are interested in the local history, the update of historic buildings will bring about more benefits to a wider range of people.