It is sometimes said that people should be encouraged to get married before they are 30, as this is the best for the individual and for society. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that one should get married before he or she is 30, as this is the best for them and the general public. I disagree with this view because I personally believe that everyone should decide for themselves, rather than rushing only to please the community’s expectations. First of all, there should be no age limits to such important matters such as matrimony. Each individual should get married whenever they feel ready both emotionally and fiscally. For example, most women want to get high paid jobs or pursue their dream career nowadays before becoming wives and potential mothers. Therefore, they will be financially secure on their own in order to provide a good life for their newborns, even if the father leaves the family. In contrast, most people who get married before their thirties, get into forced and unhappy relationships. Moreover, this could lead to an abusive household which means no good for the mental health of any member of a family. Second of all, even if early marriages would balance the age structure in most parts of the world, they could also lead to a significant number of divorces. This is because early marital ceremonies are often made randomly, with no emotional connection or love. Therefore, the child born in this type of families will most probably be neglected or even unwanted, since his or her parents have nothing in common. Consequently, society may become careless about basic human values which can only be promoted by stable families. To sum up, I am opposed to setting a certain age limit for when humans should marry. Life is a long journey and everyone has the right to spend it with the one they truly love and want to start a family with, thing that might, as well, result in more loving and solid households.