Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures? What measures should be taken to reduce this pressure?

It is claimed that children are going under more and more pressure academically, socially, and commercially these days. While one side of this pressure emerges from the peer pressure and the growing expectations of their families, the other side comes from the unrealistic standards of society. This essay will elaborate on these causes and will offer a solution. Not only children are in stiff academic competition these days but also their families push them beyond their limits due to the highly unrealistic social norms. For instance, many families spend millions only to sign their children up in private schools and expect them to become either doctors or engineers because of the high salary they might earn in the future. Thus, a general belief in community and among children is made, making them compete with each other at any cost to earn a higher career position and to be accepted and respected in society, ignoring how much they love their academic major. Nevertheless, one of the possible solutions might be changing unrealistic standards and norms. Parents and society must let offspring take up their own career and lifestyle which fosters a sense of freedom and independence. If we teach them to follow their hearts, they will end up more successful academically and socially. Moreover, research on Iranian pupils in 2010 revealed that those children who have studied the major they loved, became more successful and prosperous in their fields due to the lower rate of peer pressure among their friends as well as their families. In conclusion, Although society and families over push children to reach a high unrealistic perspective of them, giving them more freedom will foster independence which leads them toward academic and career success. In addition, it allows them to have a stress-free lifestyle.