Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The debate surrounding whether zoos are facilitating animal conservation or just torturing them has sparked considerable controversy. Although the latter opinion might be supported by many, I firmly believe that these specialized places offer substantial benefits to extinct species due to the reasons the upcoming paragraphs elaborate on. To begin with, there can be no doubt that zoos are restricting numerous animals from their natural habitat, resulting in a change in behaviour. The primary factor behind this is that the animals, especially wildlife, might feel intricate and face difficulties in adapting to new surroundings, instead of living in forests. Furthermore, they could experience discomfort and unpleasantness from tourists, since there is a multitude of people visiting them each day. To substantiate this claim, research indicates that the root cause of death of most animals in zoos is illness due to depression, as they tend to not feed themselves and suffer in silence. In essence, facilities provided by zoos definitely could not replace their native environment. Nevertheless, I contend that zoos are providing excellent services in preserving endangered wildlife from totally disappearing from Earth. This is of paramount importance because society plays a vital role in protecting those animals in order to avoid food chain disruption that could bring detrimental consequences to biodiversity. Take the panda as the perfect example to encapsulate this issue, this species has a weak survival instinct and cannot survive alone in the wild, therefore measures should be taken to protect pandas. Additionally, zoos are also used as a convenient platform to educate people, especially the younger generations, on the knowledge of animals. To put it another way, these animal shelters bring numerous advantages not merely to endangered species, but also to society. In conclusion, in light of what has been discussed, the discussion of zoos being cruel or protective towards animals remains a moot point. Although some species confront some obstacles, the advantages zoos offer to benefit the animals more and hence outweigh the drawbacks. I concur with the viewpoint that these places are supporting wildlife to continue their life journey.