Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Competition is an act that can been seen in many settings like in schools, workplaces and daily activities. Some people claim that competition is a positive aspect while others argue that the drawbacks of competition are more than the benefits. In my opinion, competing against each other is essential and useful if done in a healthy way. Analyzing the statement and explaining further, the act of competing can contribute to the social and professional development of a person in many different ways. It helps the individual to learn how to be efficient and productive. In addition, it can be a motivator to make the people work at their best condition and this will create a happy and a healthy work environment. Hence, job satisfaction can be achieved. To cite an example, competition will allow employers to focus on their weaknesses and work harder to reach a satisfactory level and thus will increase the productivity in a workplace. Competition is a great aspect of any job if it was done and used in a safe as well as an honest way. Some people might misunderstand the concept of competition and use it in a negative way to achieve their personal needs. Individuals can use various methods to harm others in order to reach a higher qualification or status. As a result, the rate of crimes committed will rise and this will disrupt the quality of life in any community. Additionally, toxic competitors will develop abnormal feelings like hate, anger and revenge driven by their emotions leading to devastating consequences, including losing their jobs, source of income and increase rate of poverty. To conclude, competition is a manner that can be seen and applied in many places. It has both advantages and disadvantages. I strongly believe that the fore-mentioned aspect can be a positive factor with many benefits if used correctly and wisely.