Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Technology, per se, has made us what we are, master of the universe, i.e., technology has changed our lives with more convenience and comfort, ranging from control of fire at first to state-of-the-art inventions, e.g., nuclear power and AI. These evolutions give our lives myriads of benefits, however, and are harmful to the earth simultaneously, whether tangible or intangible. Admitting that it is a matter of the relativity of how we think the reason why solar energy has become popular, the answer varies from person to person, depending on the value systems or the environments where you live. All in all, regarding the question statement, I believe there are two significant reasons, and each advantage and disadvantage is as follows. First, I reckon that the significant reasons causing the expansion of solar panels are the increasing price of electricity and our interest in global warming. Today, the lack of resources, oil, coal, and liquid gas, which generate electricity, leads to high prices of energy costs. In Japan, relying on these fuels from other countries, many people struggle to pay electricity. Besides, climate change, such as the severe heat waves in summer and typhoons, has stimulated people’s concern about global warming. To stop it, some people have taken action, and solar energy is one of the forms of the activities. Second, solar power has the other side of the coin of merits and demerits. In terms of benefits, it enables us to save money by reducing the amount of electricity we purchase from power companies. On the other hand, the drawback of using solar energy is that we can make energy using it only when exposed to sunlight on sunny days and daytime. Since electricity is a crucial component of our social infrastructure, such as the internet and hospitals, the supply of electricity with solar power must improve its systems or consider incorporating other sustainable power, for example, wind and geothermal. In conclusion, solar energy is becoming more and more popular because of the influences of increasing energy and our interest in global warming. Although there are significant merits to using it, we have to think of its limitations.