Some people decide to start their own business instead of working for a company or organization. Do the advantages for people working for their own business outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, start-ups are being favoured by many individuals rather than working in a firm. There are pros and cons to this development in the work culture of communities. I am of the opinion that the benefits override any drawbacks of running personal businesses and the reasons are highlighted below. To commence with, governments of the growing economies promote start-up businesses even in remote cities, and some people have started to run their own organisations. The most obvious reason for this is that no one wants to be a subordinate generally. It has been evident in many situations that humans like power and authority. Because it has a single authority to dictate terms, decision-making will be easier for these personally-owned companies. Hence, the ease of doing transactions and services is greatly improved, which has been the case in most such cases. For example, one, who runs IT hardware maintenance, does not have to wait for approval to buy spare parts. Thus, decision-making will be faster. In addition to this, the efficiency and quality of the work entirely depend on someone who operates the firm. So he will be extra cautious in his work, which will be of higher standards than that of a hired employee. Moreover, the money, which was spent for hiring, will be a loss for the institution. So it has a definite advantage over working in another job. Conversely, there are some disadvantages too, in which one is worthy to be mentioned here. While running a company alone, there is a chance of missing a variety of inputs which can hinder the improvements as a professional. In a company, your colleagues will contribute to your personal growth. For instance, almost all multinational companies have a human resources development department which is dedicated to improving personal skills.But personal businesses lack this cushion. Though this is a clear disadvantage, the benefits outweigh it. To Conclude, the pros are stronger in favour of start-ups than working as an employee. Nevertheless, some disadvantages are also there which can be controlled by innovation.