Nowadays, more and more children are being brought up in single parent families. What are the causes of this? What effects can be seen as a result of this?

These days, the number of children who are raised by a single parent has been increasing significantly. This essay will explain the causes and the effects related to this trend. To begin with the causes, the number of divorce rate is increasing in many countries. Societies may become more accepting of divorce. This attitude allows people to decide to live with their children without a partner. Research recently conducted by the Ministry of Culture in Japan discovered that the figure of single-parent families is twice that of the one in 1950, and in the next decades, the figure will rise to 60%. In addition, through improving economic independence, single parents, especially women, can raise their children on their own incomes. If they feel indifferent with their partner or do not have the same goal as a family, they will be likely to choose divorce without concerning money. Consequently, this trend will cause a higher rate of single families. Turning to the effects, although there are several negative effects, the most significant problem for single parents is a mental issue. These can include depression and sleep disorder. According to an article published by Nikkei newspaper, among the patients who feel depressed, the number of people who are single parents is twice larger than those who are not. Additionally, 40% of single parents suffer from sleep disorder, since they often worry about the responsibilities that they have to raise their children alone. If they had a partner, they could share their negative feeling and reduce their stress. In conclusion, more and more children are raised by single parents due to increasing divorce. This trend can cause serious problems for single parents.