The Decline of Respect for the Elderly in Modern Society Discuus both views and give you opinion

In today’s world, the elderly seem to merit inadequate reverence from their societies. The underlying causes of this trend are linked to poor family connections, while many social implications can ensue due to this change. It is irrefutable that many households are shifting their focus away from extended family structures, thus becoming more nuclear with fewer members. This natural distance between generations of the family can fracture mutual bonds due to limited or infrequent interactions. Meeting their grandparents only once in a while means that grandchildren may underestimate their role as a head of the family, which invariably makes the elderly feel neglected and alienated from their loved ones. As an increasing number of families are prioritizing this pattern, the entire community will eventually follow suit. Having explored the likely drivers of this ongoing trend, it is important to consider some side effects. Perhaps the most concerning issue is that smaller families without grandparents may lose their integrity and cohesion because older people are integral to family dynamics. These people are normally seen to guide younger family members, help them navigate financial and social issues, and enlighten their lives with sound advice. Losing touch with and showing less respect towards the elderly, therefore, entails unforeseen consequences in terms of managing family budgets, child-rearing, and other similar lifestyle matters. When this neglect extends beyond just a family, the whole society may have to pay the price. In conclusion, the ever-changing family structures can be cited as the main culprits as to why many older citizens are undervalued, and I believe that social costs can become unbearable as more and more people pay less tribute to the elderly.