People can eat a variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadavantages?

Nowadays, food production has risen as the demand increases. With the increase of food production people can consume a variety of food that is not locally grown. Since people have access to these variations of food, they tend to consume imported foods rather than locally-made produce. In this essay, I will provide the pros and cons of this and why it would be a disadvantage to do so. To begin with, an advantage of having a variation of produce is good as it allows people to have a wider variety of food to consume. This can also be helpful to people with specific needs such as vegans or people with intolerances. For example, growing up in the Philippines I have lactose intolerance and this has made consuming milk products very difficult for me as I will have a severe stomach after eating food that contains milk. When I was growing up, our town did not have access to milk alternatives such as soy or almond milk, but with the demand for milk alternatives, I was able to buy almond milk from a local dairy. On the other hand, this can be disadvantageous to local produce. Importing foreign foods can be harmful to farmers and sellers of local produce. For example, in the Philippines, local farmers are having a hard time selling their produce as the government is more set on importing produce into the country as the government aims to cater to foreigners instead of the citizens. As a result, this could affect the economy of the country as it can cause inflation and in turn, will affect locals as they now will have to pay more in order to buy and consume food. To conclude, having access to and eating imported produce is beneficial to people who have specific needs however, the disadvantages such as importing goods can be harmful to a country's economy and outweigh the benefits.