Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether studying history is useful or it is compeletly waste of time. While there has been a great change in the way we live on this planet, still I believe there's a lot we can learn about current time by studying history. On one hand, with the advancement of science and technology our lifestyle has faced extreme change from the past. We have learnt a lot about the whole universe and we have made specific devices to meet our needs. With todays knowledge and tools it is obvious that some solutions that our ancestors used aren't useful or even valid anymore. Also our careless behaviour toward this planet have caused the whole climate to change and therefore there are many problems that they never existed before. On the other hand, there are several advantages in learning about the past. Firstly, it is said so that history repeats itself. It is believed that people will act the same in similar situations, so if you don't learn your lessons you will possibly repeat your mistake. For example it is important to understand what reasons caused wars in the past. Secondly, by learning the process that things went through to reach their current state, we can improve them. Finally, it is important to know where are we from and how are ancients lived and what sort of things they valued. In conclusion, I believe eventhough we are living differently from our ancestors, learning about how they used to live will help us avoid repeating their wrongs and improving their good works.