Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while otherpeople think it encourages crime. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Technology has been improving over the last few years with yearly upgrades to phone and computer systems. This has been a point of contention for some people as they think that the enhancement of technology has aided in reducing crimes while others think that it encourages crime. In this essay, I will talk about both sides and how I think technology encourages people to commit crimes. In recent years, there has been a constant improvement of technological devices that enable people to monitor one's business or house. The rise of home security cameras and ring doorbell cameras would deflect potential criminals from entering other people's houses or committing crimes. There has been a decrease in trespassing and stealing valuable items from houses. Also, the rise of social media has enabled the community to spread awareness of the criminal acts done through social media. For example, in my hometown, growing up there was a high rate of house break-ins and theft, however, since people have started putting security cameras around and inside their homes, there has been a steady decline in these crimes. On the other hand, as technology advances, so does the crime rate. Technology has been helping in reducing crimes like theft and robbery but other types of crimes have increased. Since people have the need to keep up with the advancing world, they tend to commit fraud to be able to purchase newer gadgets like smartphones and computers. For example, in my hometown, a group of employees were imprisoned for selling illegal substances as a way of paying back their debt. Police mentioned that their debt due to exorbitant spending on gadgets had led these people to commit such acts. Moreover, social influencers release videos that encourage unpleasant behaviours like prank videos. This has resulted in multiple people having bodily harm due to these pranks. For example, an influencer released a video about how they planned and successfully smashed the birthday girl's face onto the cake. This has gone viral and many have joined the trend, unluckily multiple people have been injured by this due to their cake having wooden dowels as cake support. One of the victims has suffered total vision loss due to this prank. In conclusion, technological advancement has been beneficial in decreasing criminal acts like theft and trespassing. However, this improvement has also led to an increase in the selling of illegal substances to keep up with the advancement and bodily harm due to the videos spread around using these devices. In my opinion, these innovations have more detrimental effects than positive effects.