Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this modern era, humans have developed many smart devices. The mobile phone is one of them, it is portable and used by everyone today. There are so many social apps and games which attract children and they spend hours on their smartphones. This trend has a negative impact on children because they spend less time on their studies and it is not good for the body as well. The first and foremost negative impact is on time management. Often it is seen that kids who spend most of their time playing games on their mobile phones are not efficient in their studies. For example, an article published in The New York Times shows that more than 50 per cent of youngsters are not able to perform well because they spend most of their time on their mobile phones. Chatting with friends and watching reels are the most popular these days. Another negative effect is on the body. It is often seen that youngster lying all day on their beds and do not do any physical activities. Which results in increased obesity. Even more, it is not good for the eyes as well. For instance, these days more than 70 per cent of children wear glasses. In conclusion, it is clear that heavy usage of phones not only impacts the studies of children but the body as well. So phone usage should be limited and parents have to make sure their children spend their time wisely. Because only a healthy body can ensure the success of a human being.