Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether it is the role of parents or teachers to shape students into good citizens of a country has sparked considerable debate. This essay will discuss both views, and I personally think that parents have a more significant responsibility because they are the immediate caregivers and spend a lot of time daily with them. Teachers are primarily responsible for educating students during school hours. They are professionally trained and equipped with effective techniques to impart necessary skills and knowledge to students. For instance, in Cambodia, secondary school teachers undergo a 4-year training program to gain pedagogical skills and content knowledge. However, I believe that parents play a more crucial role in teaching children to differentiate between right and wrong. Parents, often considered the first teachers of children, are encouraged to spend more time educating their own children on proper behaviour because they are the primary caregivers and have ample time to interact with them. It is believed that if parents spend adequate time teaching their children, they will grow up to become valuable members of society. For example, many working mothers in Cambodia choose to take extended leave from their jobs to spend more time with their young children, ensuring they have a memorable childhood. I believe this is one of the effective methods of raising children, as parents have the most significant influence on their children's behaviour. In conclusion, while teachers are obligated to teach students how to behave positively in society, parents should be the primary influencers in moulding children into well-rounded citizens due to their role as guardians and the amount of time they have to spend with their children.