School curriculum is selected by the central education authority rather than by the teachers, parents and students. Some believe that the latter should take part in the choice. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many modern schools adopted the school curriculum which is fully selected by the government. However, I strongly believe that teachers, parents and students’ involvement in the composure of learning materials would be beneficial to the pupils due to higher incentive to learn and better understanding of their regions. On the one hand, students’ and teachers’ involvement provides a higher incentive for the former to learn and the latter to teach. First of all, if pupils are granted the authority to amend the curriculum according to their interests, their school lives will turn to be more enjoyable and engaging. Consider the case of girls’ schools, the young ladies tend to have a cooking course than a gaming one. Meanwhile, teachers are able to tailor the teaching materials based on which area they are knowledgeable about. This can be exemplified by an astronomical mania teacher who can foster stellar interest in his/her students. On the other hand, it can help children to gain knowledge of regional content when the school curriculum is not fully composed by the central education authority. One notable example is the Aboriginal schools in Australia. When the Aboriginal festival and history are taught in schools, the Aboriginal children are allowed to be immersed in their culture, impacting their traditions to the next generations. Moreover, there are four official languages in Switzerland. This is also evident in Switzerland, which has four official languages. In other words, students have different mother languages in different cities. Therefore, it is better to translate the textbooks into the corresponding regional language. In conclusion, I believe the third parties’ advice in the school curriculum is vital for a better educational outcome because it can lead to a higher to study and a border knowledge of the places they belong to.