The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, transportation is the leading means by which goods and services get to their final destination. However, there is currently a debate that a different mode of transport should be established and global regulations should be enacted to control the ownership of vehicles as well as their uses. In my opinion, I completely agree that the overpopulation and reliance of cars is the cause of major traffic on the roads and contributing factor to climate change. To begin with, car ownership in Britain has rapidly skyrocketed since 1888, when the first car first appeared on the road. The car is one of the fastest ways by which a lot of people get to work and move around because it is convenient, but its enormous use has contributed to the leading cause of traffic on British roads. For example, traffic data count data presented by a road transport team in London revealed that traffic on major roads has caused a lot of people to arrive home late. Hence, government authorities should educate and grant funds to create another means of transport such as walking or using the railway line. Furthermore, the population growth in the use of cars is also a contributing factor to climate change. This is to say that, when a car uses biofuel also known as ethanol this smoke is released back into the atmosphere which produces carbon dioxide back into the air. In contrast, if international regulations are passed into law to encourage citizens to use other means of transportation, the implication of the zone layer will be reduced. For example, about 60 per cent of people in the UK own more than 3 cars, this is a leading factor that contributes to the cause of climate change. Hence, rules and regulations can help reduce carbon footprints. To conclude, although the use of cars in the future is very paramount for delivering products faster. However, the government should do more to reduce the negative effects by funding another form of transport to reduce the reliance on cars in the future, and citizens should respect laws and regulations to promote a positive environment in society.